Firms
IQ Capital is a dedicated European deep tech venture capital firm, built on the conviction that frontier technology will underpin the next generation of globally significant companies. The firm leads rounds at pre-Seed to Series A and, through its growth opportunity funds, can follow-on with up to $40m per company. Founded in Cambridge in 2007, IQ Capital now operates from London with additional offices in Cambridge and Amsterdam.
Founded —
Type Venture capital Funds3 Fund V 2026-01-20 2026-01-20 — Newer verified vehicle; up to GBP50m cornerstone LP commitment is not total fund size/target/final close. Unsubstantiated USD400m target excluded.
Second Growth Fund 2023-06-29 2023-06-29 — Launched USD200m vehicle alongside Fund IV; final close independently unverified, amount kept null.
Venture Fund IV 2023-06-29 2023-06-29 $200M USD200m final close; official page publication29June2023, earlier reporting5June2023. Not combined USD400m headline.
SHOW MORE
Team$10M $700K – $20M London $7M $700K – $13M Cambridge, Massachusetts $7M $700K – $13M London $7M $700K – $13M United Kingdom $3M $500K – $15M Zurich $1M $100K – $5M United Kingdom $25K $5K – $50K United Kingdom — — – — — — – — — — – — — — – — — — – — — — – — — — – — — — – — — — – — — — – — — — – — — — – — — — – — — — – — — — – —
SHOW MORE
Investments$30M 2026-08-17 Mindgard IQ Capital , Lakestar €15M 2026-07-09 Quantum Diamonds Earlybird Venture Capital , IQ Capital $53M 2026-06-02 IMU Biosciences IQ Capital $105M 2026-03-13 Tropic IQ Capital $50M 2026-03-09 Isembard CIV , IQ Capital , Notion Capital $220M 2026-01-30 VulcanForms Eclipse , IQ Capital , Greg Reichow , Lior Susan $60M 2025-12-10 Nu Quantum Amadeus Capital Partners , IQ Capital $23M 2025-11-28 Gravis Robotics IQ Capital , Pear VC $— 2025-10-06 Trogenix IQ Capital $8M 2025-09-30 AiM Medical Robotics IQ Capital , Angular Ventures $— 2025-09-24 Synthesized Redalpine , IQ Capital $— 2025-09-23 Dalton Redalpine , IQ Capital £6M 2025-08-19 Neurovalens IQ Capital $— 2025-06-02 Accelercomm Bosch Ventures , IP Group , IQ Capital $30M 2025-04-16 Nyobolt IQ Capital $10M 2025-03-05 Alpine Eagle General Catalyst , HCVC , IQ Capital $32M 2025-02-18 Cambridge GaN Devices IQ Capital , Ian Lane $17M 2025-02-05 IONATE AlbionVC , IQ Capital , David Grimm $4M 2024-11-26 Molyon IQ Capital , Plural $12M 2024-09-10 NanoSyrinx IQ Capital $— 2024-03-07 Wobble Genomics IQ Capital $53M 2024-01-24 IMU Biosciences IQ Capital $8M 2024 Mindgard IQ Capital , Lakestar $— 2023-11-30 Mytos IQ Capital , Wing Venture Capital $8M 2023-11-27 Quantum Diamonds Earlybird Venture Capital , IQ Capital , Philipp Semmer $— 2023-11-03 Nu Quantum Seraphim Space , Expeditions , IQ Capital , Amadeus Capital Partners , Cambridge Enterprise , National Security Strategic Investment Fund $8M 2023-10-19 Ai Build IQ Capital $— 2023-05-25 Signaloid IQ Capital $3M 2023-05-10 Odin IQ Capital $65M 2023-03-06 Congruence Therapeutics IQ Capital $15M 2023-02-23 CyberSmart IQ Capital $26M 2023-02-01 Risilience IQ Capital $19M 2022-11-15 Cambridge GaN Devices Ian Lane , IQ Capital $— 2022-11-09 TOffeeAM IQ Capital $14M 2022-09-27 Optellum IQ Capital $62M 2022-06-28 Speechmatics AlbionVC , IQ Capital $12M 2022-06-23 Opteran Seraphim Space , IQ Capital , Episode 1 , Northern Gritstone $28M 2022-06-09 CybSafe IQ Capital $1M 2022-03-15 Boltzbit Speedinvest , IQ Capital $3M 2022-03-15 AiM Medical Robotics IQ Capital $20M 2022-02-22 Porotech IQ Capital , Speedinvest $45M 2022-01-28 causaLens IQ Capital $— 2022 Pictura Bio IQ Capital $200M 2021-11-29 Thought Machine BACKED VC , IQ Capital $8M 2021-10-21 Risilience IQ Capital $10M 2021-06-29 Virti IQ Capital $30M 2021-06-02 Divido IQ Capital $7M 2021-01-28 CybSafe IQ Capital $2M 2020-03-10 Synthesized IQ Capital $6M 2020 Concirrus AlbionVC , IQ Capital $80M 2020 Privitar Accel , IQ Capital $172M 2019-11-06 Coveo IQ Capital $— 2019-10-21 Speechmatics AlbionVC , IQ Capital $12M 2019 Audio Analytic IQ Capital $1M 2018-11-22 Wluper LTD. IQ Capital $— 2017 Closed Loop Medicine IQ Capital $— 2015 Audio Analytic IQ Capital $5M 2014 Audio Analytic IQ Capital $— 2011 Neul IQ Capital $34M Unknown date Rivan IQ Capital $— Unknown date Oxdx IQ Capital $— Unknown date Oxford Space Systems IQ Capital $— Unknown date Closed Loop Medicine IQ Capital $— Unknown date Dreamfold IQ Capital $5M Unknown date Imperagen IQ Capital $— Unknown date Nuclear Turbines IQ Capital $— Unknown date ToffeeX IQ Capital $5M Unknown date FNA IQ Capital $— Unknown date mQube IQ Capital $— Unknown date mQube IQ Capital $— Unknown date Omegga IQ Capital $— Unknown date Tagomics IQ Capital $— Unknown date Senseye IQ Capital $11M Unknown date Baseimmune IQ Capital $2M Unknown date Neurovalens IQ Capital $15M Unknown date Turintech IQ Capital €15M 2026-07-09 QUANTUMDIAMONDS GMBH Earlybird Venture Capital , IQ Capital $105M 2026-03-12 Tropic Biosciences IQ Capital $— 2026 QUANTUMDIAMONDS GMBH Earlybird Venture Capital , IQ Capital $21M 2024-09-25 Vsim Technology IQ Capital $— 2022-11-07 Worldr IQ Capital $5M 2018-04-10 Spectral Edge IQ Capital $3M 2018 Biobeats IQ Capital $— 2016-03-22 Spectral Edge IQ Capital $8M 2016-02-02 Grapeshot AlbionVC , IQ Capital $2M 2016 Biobeats IQ Capital $— 2014 Biobeats IQ Capital $650K 2013 Biobeats ENIAC Ventures , IQ Capital $21M Unknown date Vsim IQ Capital $— Unknown date Iotic IQ Capital $8M Unknown date Foundries.io IQ Capital
SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 3 hours ago
Investment-fund research reviewed 2026-10-06. Publicly identified funds, dates, amounts and fundraising status are below. Undisclosed commitments remain unknown; this is not a complete register of private SPVs or parallel entities.
Fund size and status
| Vehicle/metric | Supported amount/status | Evidence and date |
|---|---|---|
| Venture Fund IV | **US$200m final close** | [IQ Capital announcement](https://www.iqcapital.vc/news/iq-capital-raises-400m-to-invest-in-transformative-deep-tech-companies ), published 2023-06-29. |
| Second Growth Fund | **US$200m launched** alongside Fund IV | Same official announcement, 2023-06-29. Wording establishes launch, not an independently documented final close. The headline's $400m combines two vehicles. |
| Fund V | **Up to £50m cornerstone LP commitment** by British Business Bank; total fund size/target and final close not verified | [British Business Bank announcement](https://www.british-business-bank.co.uk/news-and-events/news/british-business-bank-makes-ps50-million-cornerstone-commitment-iq-capital-fund-v-back-deeptech ), 2026-01-20. This is an LP commitment, not Fund V's total size. |
| Firm AUM | US$1bn reported in 2023; £1bn quoted by managing partner in 2026 | The two official announcements above. Different currency/date reporting; do not merge into a single fund size or calculate growth from them. |
| Follow-on capacity | Up to **US$40m** through growth opportunity funds | [Official homepage](https://www.iqcapital.vc/ ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06. Capacity is not a normal initial check, guaranteed allocation or fund size. |
[TechCrunch's contemporaneous Fund IV report](https://techcrunch.com/2023/06/05/as-deeptech-and-ai-explodes-european-deeptech-vc-iq-capital-closes-new-200m-fund/ ), dated 2023-06-05, corroborates the $200m close. Its publication precedes the official site's 2023-06-29 posting: preserve the distinction between report date and official page date.
Newer fund searches identified Fund V, so Fund IV must not be called the latest fund. A [Pitchkit profile](https://pitchkit.net/investors/iq-capital ), undated/accessed 2026-10-06, claims a $400m Fund V raising target without substantiating primary evidence visible here. Do not adopt that amount pending an official fund document. Latest-known verified final-close amount in the checked sources is Fund IV's $200m, while Fund V is the newer verified vehicle.
Funds recorded in Adex after this review:
| Fund | Disclosed amount | Announcement / filing date |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Second Growth Fund | Undisclosed / unverified | 2023-06-29 |
| Venture Fund IV | USD 200000000 | 2023-06-29 |
| Fund V | Undisclosed / unverified | 2026-01-20 | SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 4 hours ago
Match research 2026-10-06 / IQCapital / sha256:a5b73ab03d0523c1dc9cd7fffa8f693decd664c5ec13fd3ba626bc00ed5b8a87 / part 2 of 2
Imported completed research. Baseline Adex/Signal statements describe prior state, not independent verification. Retain cited attribution, date, currency and classification caveats.
**Neurovalens — direct neurotechnology.** Non-invasive electrical vestibular-nerve stimulation devices make this a direct neuromodulation example, beyond a generic mental-health app. [IQ's official portfolio profile](https://www.iqcapital.vc/company/neurovalens ), undated/accessed 2026-10-06, identifies Neurovalens, labels its investment stage Seed, and describes the nerve-stimulation technology. Its rendering also includes “exited,” without exit explanation. Separately, [Neurovalens' official announcement](https://neurovalens.com/nv_news/neurovalens-secures-6m-investment-in-funding-round-led-by-investment-fund-for-northern-ireland/ ), **2025-08-19**, confirms a closed **£6m round** and explicit follow-on participation by existing investor IQ Capital. The round was led by IFNI/Clarendon, not IQ. No named series or IQ check amount is given. That 2025 participation means the portfolio's unexplained “exited” tag cannot be used to infer an earlier full exit. Device regulatory statements are issuer claims; this research verifies investor attribution, not clinical efficacy or every clearance.
**AiM Medical Robotics — neurosurgical robotics/neurotechnology enabling hardware.** [Company seed announcement](https://www.aimmedicalrobotics.com/aim-medical-robotics-raises-3-4m-in-seed-financing-to-advance-neurosurgery-with-mri-compatible-robotics/ ), **2022-03-15**, confirms **US$3.4m seed**, led by IQ Capital and Surrey Capital Partners. [Company-issued GlobeNewswire announcement](https://www.globenewswire.com/news-release/2025/09/30/3158877/0/en/AiM-Medical-Robotics-Secures-8-1-Million-Series-A-Financing-to-Transform-Neurosurgery-with-MRI-Compatible-Surgical-Robotics.html ), **2025-09-30**, confirms **US$8.1m Series A**, co-led by IQ and **1540 Ventures**. Initial close was June 2025; $3.75m of the total was converted notes. Its MRI-compatible robot guides intracranial procedures and neurostimulation leads for Parkinson's disease. This is brain-surgery/DBS-enabling hardware, not a claim that AiM itself supplies a neural decoder or stimulation implant. The release describes development toward first-in-human studies, not established clinical efficacy.
**Opteran — neuroscience-inspired AI, not a direct human neural interface.** Its brain-inspired algorithms justify a separate adjacent classification. Do not conflate reverse-engineering insect behavior with recording or stimulating a patient's nervous system. **BioBeats** and **Closed Loop Medicine** appear in [IQ's official portfolio directory](https://www.iqcapital.vc/companies ), undated/accessed 2026-10-06, as biometric preventative health and digital therapies respectively; directory attribution does not establish direct neurotechnology, so they are not counted as additional verified direct neurotech investments here.
## Conflicts, gaps and concrete Adex review notes
1. **Founding year:** saved Adex description and 2023 firm release say 2007; current homepage and 2026 Bank release refer to 2005, and the Bank traces Fund I support to 2006. Firm origins, first fund and legal incorporation may be different milestones. Do not overwrite with one year without clarifying the field's meaning.
2. **Fund distinctions:** add dated Fund IV final close separately from Growth Fund launch, Fund V LP commitment and AUM. Fund V total size, target and final close remain unverified.
3. **Check fields:** $40m is growth follow-on capacity. Keep initial check minimum/sweet spot unknown absent firm evidence; do not populate them from database estimates.
4. **Neurotech:** retain firm attribution for Neurovalens and AiM; add verified dated rounds with correct leads. Explain AiM's surgery-enabling classification and Opteran's adjacent neuromorphic AI classification.
5. **Status:** Neurovalens and Opteran profile “exited” tags lack dates or transaction explanation; confirm before changing ownership/status. Neurovalens' 2025 follow-on is directly documented.
6. **Snapshot hygiene:** review duplicate company IDs/names before adding participations. Snapshot IMU Biosciences entries use the same $53m source with different dates; Porotech has a 2021 entry pointing to a 2022 release. These were observed baseline issues, not fully adjudicated in this focused research. All other snapshot rounds, including newer 2026 leads, remain individually unverified unless discussed above.
7. **NFX geography/team:** do not copy the apparent Massachusetts error or assume accessible Signal team omissions represent actual departures. Current official team and role dates need dedicated review if updating people records.
All linked sources were accessed 2026-10-06. Official/issuer evidence establishes public claims and investment participation, not independently audited performance. This is a substantive, selective portfolio review rather than an exhaustive audit of every historic IQ investment. SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 4 hours ago
Match research 2026-10-06 / IQCapital / sha256:a5b73ab03d0523c1dc9cd7fffa8f693decd664c5ec13fd3ba626bc00ed5b8a87 / part 1 of 2
Imported completed research. Baseline Adex/Signal statements describe prior state, not independent verification. Retain cited attribution, date, currency and classification caveats.
# IQ Capital
- Exact Adex ID: `IQCapital`
- Canonical Adex URL: https://adex.page/firms/IQCapital
- Official website: https://www.iqcapital.vc/
- Research completed/access date: 2026-10-06
- Scope: research for later Adex review; no database changes.
IQ Capital is a European deep-tech venture investor with a documented early-stage mandate, dedicated growth follow-on capacity, and verified investments in batteries, quantum networking, semiconductors and neurotechnology. Neurovalens is a direct neurostimulation investment; AiM Medical Robotics is a neurosurgical robotics investment supporting stimulation-lead placement. These are firm investments, not investments inferred from partners' previous employment.
## Starting evidence: Adex and NFX Signal
The exact-ID snapshot `data/research/_sources/IQCapital.adex.json` was retrieved on 2026-10-06 from read-only MCP Search. Its record describes pre-seed–Series A leadership and follow-ons up to $40m, London/Cambridge/Amsterdam operations and a 2007 founding. Investor check minimum, maximum and sweet spot are null. Investment entries include Nyobolt, Nu Quantum, Cambridge GaN Devices, Neurovalens, AiM Medical Robotics, BioBeats, Closed Loop Medicine and many others. These are starting claims, not independent verification. The snapshot includes duplicate company representations (Quantum Diamonds/QUANTUMDIAMONDS GMBH, Tropic/Tropic Biosciences, Vsim/Vsim Technology), unknown dates and conflicting date/amount entries.
[NFX Signal firm profile](https://signal.nfx.com/firms/iq-capital ) was directly accessed on 2026-10-06. The accessible rendering showed the firm name and location “Cambridge, Massachusetts • London • United Kingdom,” but no populated team or stage/check details. Its Massachusetts geography appears inconsistent with official UK identity and should not be imported. The saved Adex source also cites [Signal's DeepTech pre-seed list](https://signal.nfx.com/investor-lists/top-deeptech-pre-seed-investors ) as historical acquisition provenance; that list was not independently revalidated here. Signal accessibility does not independently establish investment attribution.
## Fund size and status
| Vehicle/metric | Supported amount/status | Evidence and date |
|---|---|---|
| Venture Fund IV | **US$200m final close** | [IQ Capital announcement](https://www.iqcapital.vc/news/iq-capital-raises-400m-to-invest-in-transformative-deep-tech-companies ), published 2023-06-29. |
| Second Growth Fund | **US$200m launched** alongside Fund IV | Same official announcement, 2023-06-29. Wording establishes launch, not an independently documented final close. The headline's $400m combines two vehicles. |
| Fund V | **Up to £50m cornerstone LP commitment** by British Business Bank; total fund size/target and final close not verified | [British Business Bank announcement](https://www.british-business-bank.co.uk/news-and-events/news/british-business-bank-makes-ps50-million-cornerstone-commitment-iq-capital-fund-v-back-deeptech ), 2026-01-20. This is an LP commitment, not Fund V's total size. |
| Firm AUM | US$1bn reported in 2023; £1bn quoted by managing partner in 2026 | The two official announcements above. Different currency/date reporting; do not merge into a single fund size or calculate growth from them. |
| Follow-on capacity | Up to **US$40m** through growth opportunity funds | [Official homepage](https://www.iqcapital.vc/ ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06. Capacity is not a normal initial check, guaranteed allocation or fund size. |
[TechCrunch's contemporaneous Fund IV report](https://techcrunch.com/2023/06/05/as-deeptech-and-ai-explodes-european-deeptech-vc-iq-capital-closes-new-200m-fund/ ), dated 2023-06-05, corroborates the $200m close. Its publication precedes the official site's 2023-06-29 posting: preserve the distinction between report date and official page date.
Newer fund searches identified Fund V, so Fund IV must not be called the latest fund. A [Pitchkit profile](https://pitchkit.net/investors/iq-capital ), undated/accessed 2026-10-06, claims a $400m Fund V raising target without substantiating primary evidence visible here. Do not adopt that amount pending an official fund document. Latest-known verified final-close amount in the checked sources is Fund IV's $200m, while Fund V is the newer verified vehicle.
## Investment stages and mandate
The [official homepage](https://www.iqcapital.vc/ ), accessed 2026-10-06, says IQ leads **pre-seed through Series A**, then supports companies through growth funds. The [2026 Bank release](https://www.british-business-bank.co.uk/news-and-events/news/british-business-bank-makes-ps50-million-cornerstone-commitment-iq-capital-fund-v-back-deeptech ) describes Fund V continuing early-stage investing across AI/automation, computing/semiconductors, health/bio, advanced engineering/energy, and security/resilience. Historical Series C participation below demonstrates follow-on activity rather than a blanket late-stage initial-investment mandate. No verified universal initial check range was established.
## Named previous deep-tech investments
Amounts below describe company rounds, not IQ Capital's individual contribution. Technology classifications are research assessments based on the cited technical descriptions.
| Company | Technology and firm attribution | Round/date and source |
|---|---|---|
| **Nyobolt** | Proprietary battery anode/cell chemistry and high-power fast charging; IQ Capital and Latitude led the financing. Strong physical-science deep-tech example. | **US$30m**, announced **2025-04-16**; stage not specified in this company release. [Nyobolt official announcement](https://nyobolt.com/resources/news/nyobolt-raises-30-million-as-demand-for-high-power-energy-solutions-surge-with-ai-growth/ ). |
| **Nu Quantum** | Quantum networking connects quantum processors through entanglement infrastructure. IQ Capital explicitly named as a continuing investor; National Grid Partners led. | **US$60m Series A**, closed/announced **2025-12-10**. [Company release](https://www.nu-quantum.com/news/nu-quantum-raises-60m-series-a-in-largest-financing-round-for-quantum-computer-networking ). |
| **Cambridge GaN Devices** | Gallium nitride power transistors; IQ participated alongside other investors. Materials/semiconductor innovation, rather than ordinary software. | **US$19m Series B**, **2022-11-15**. [Co-investor Cambridge Innovation Capital release](https://www.cic.vc/cic-invests-in-cambridge-gan-devices-19m-series-b-round-to-tackle-the-50b-global-power-semiconductor-market/ ). A further **US$32m Series C**, **2025-02-18**, names IQ as an existing investor participating; [CIC-issued release reproduced by Publicnow](https://ebs.publicnow.com/view/F4D391419792E06620CA84AD581536A4177F76C5 ). The latter is an attributed primary issuer statement hosted by an aggregator. |
| **DreamFold** | Generative models for therapeutic protein properties: computational biology. IQ's own release identifies it as a Fund IV investment. | Investment already made by **2023-06-29**; round date, stage, size and IQ contribution undisclosed in [official Fund IV release](https://www.iqcapital.vc/news/iq-capital-raises-400m-to-invest-in-transformative-deep-tech-companies ). |
| **Secretarium** | Confidential computing built around advanced cryptography; IQ's Fund IV announcement explicitly identifies an investment. Technical infrastructure example; classification depends on cryptographic R&D, not simply cloud software. | Investment already made by **2023-06-29**; round details not specified. [Official Fund IV release](https://www.iqcapital.vc/news/iq-capital-raises-400m-to-invest-in-transformative-deep-tech-companies ). |
| **Opteran** | Insect-brain-inspired autonomous-machine models; clearly technical robotics/neuromorphic AI. Official firm portfolio attribution. | Official profile labels **Series A**, but provides no investment date/amount: [IQ company profile](https://www.iqcapital.vc/company/opteran ), undated/accessed 2026-10-06. Profile rendering also includes “exited”; exit date/status requires confirmation. |
Neurovalens and AiM below are additional deep-tech medical hardware investments. Ordinary banking, spend-management or security SaaS portfolio entries are not automatically classified as deep tech here merely because IQ uses that umbrella.
## Named previous neurotech investments SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 22 days ago
MATCH