Firms
An early-stage venture firm founded by Tomasz Tunguz that concentrates on AI, modern data infrastructure and Web3 businesses shaped by technological discontinuities.
Founded 2023
Type Venture capital Funds2 Fund II 2024-11-22 2024-11-22 $450M USD450m closed FundII, distinct from prior target report and USD688m current reported firm AUM.
Fund I 2023-04 2023-04 — LaunchedApril2023. Amount unresolved: counsel launchUSD230m2023-04-07 versus firm retrospectiveUSD238m2024-11-22; possible later close/expansion unproven. Structural amount deliberately null.
SHOW MORE
Team Investments
team@apexlogos.ai · 7 hours ago
Investment-fund research reviewed 2026-10-06. Publicly identified funds, dates, amounts and fundraising status are below. Undisclosed commitments remain unknown; this is not a complete register of private SPVs or parallel entities.
Fund size and stages
| Fund/metric | Evidence and dates | Assessment |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Fund I, 2023 debut | Cooley, the firm's legal adviser, announced **USD $230 million** on [2023-04-07](https://www.cooley.com/news/coverage/2023/2023-04-07-theory-ventures-announces-230-million-debut-fund ). [Forbes, 2023-04-04](https://www.forbes.com/sites/kenrickcai/2023/04/04/tomasz-tunguz-theory-ventures-launch/ ) also reported $230 million raised. | Confirmed launch-era amount; later firm reporting differs. |
| Fund I, retrospectively stated | Theory's [2024-11-22 press release, syndicated by StreetInsider](https://www.streetinsider.com/Business%2BWire/Theory%2BVentures%2BLaunches%2B%24450%2BMillion%2BSecond%2BFund%2Bfor%2Bthe%2BNext%2BGeneration%2Bof%2BEnterprise%2BSoftware/24020087.html ) gives **USD $238 million**, launched April 2023. | Do not silently overwrite $230 million: a later close or expansion is possible, but was not established here. |
| Fund II, 2024 | The same firm press release explicitly announces **USD $450 million closed**, dated 2024-11-22. [Law360, 2024-11-22](https://www.law360.com/privateequity/articles/2264581/software-focused-vc-firm-closes-2nd-fund-at-450m ) independently reports the close in its readable public introduction. | Latest-known verified individual fund. Earlier [Axios, 2024-11-01](https://www.axios.com/newsletters/axios-pro-rata-720396f8-e423-4c86-a8a9-e68d0a6f1be7 ) reported a $450 million target from a filing; the later close supersedes target-only status. |
| Total AUM | [Official About page](https://theoryvc.com/about ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06: **$688 million AUM**, currently investing Fund II at **USD $450 million**. | AUM is a separate firm-wide metric, not a third fund; the page does not disclose valuation basis. |
No verified Fund III announcement emerged from searches for newer funds through 2026-10-06. This is a latest-known statement, not proof that no additional vehicles exist. Direct access to the original [Business Wire release](https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20241122545291/en/ ) failed; its full issuer-attributed syndication above was readable.
**Current mandate:** the [official About page](https://theoryvc.com/about ) states **Inception, Seed, Series A and Series B**, with **$1–40 million investments**, a concentrated portfolio of 12–15 core positions per fund, and an early-stage software focus (undated; accessed 2026-10-06). **Historical mandate:** Cooley's 2023 announcement supports Seed and Series A, focused on data, Web3 and machine learning. Signal's $1–25 million range matches the firm's November 2024 press release, but differs from the current $1–40 million official range; retain dates and prefer the present official mandate when later reviewing Adex. Neither range is a fund size, nor is it a disclosed contribution to every round.
Funds recorded in Adex after this review:
| Fund | Disclosed amount | Announcement / filing date |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Fund I | Undisclosed / unverified | 2023-04 |
| Fund II | USD 450000000 | 2024-11-22 | SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 8 hours ago
Match research 2026-10-06 / TheoryVentures / sha256:18f4b7ccf55a4877f223df3bcd84464d94d00c25d3414c5b66bb1d69b30f5bf1 / part 2 of 2
Imported completed research. Baseline Adex/Signal statements describe prior state, not independent verification. Retain cited attribution, date, currency and classification caveats.
Other verified portfolio names should remain separate from proven deep-tech classifications. **Allium** and **Initia** are blockchain infrastructure candidates; **Artemis**, **Dropzone AI** and **Maze** are AI/security products; **BackOps**, **Doss** and **Koah** are AI-enabled business applications; **MotherDuck**, **Omni** and **Tobiko Data** are data/analytics platforms. Their presence is supported by the official portfolio (accessed 2026-10-06), but this research does not establish each company's science-based moat or individual round history. Ordinary ERP, advertising and BI software should not receive a deep-tech tag solely because AI appears in a description. The 2024 firm release also names **Context.ai**, absent from the currently displayed 15-company portfolio; treat this as historical evidence requiring a separate company review, not an inferred current holding.
## Previous neurotech investments
**No verified neurotech investment found in the sources checked.** The Adex baseline, readable NFX firm profile, official 15-company portfolio, technical company profiles above, and searches for Theory with neurotech/neuroscience/brain terms produced no directly attributed BCI, neural sensing, neural stimulation or other nervous-system technology investment.
[Andy Triedman's official biography](https://theoryvc.com/team-members/andy-triedman ) (undated; accessed 2026-10-06) mentions computational-neuroscience study and building brain-computer interfaces. This is personal educational experience, not a Theory neurotech portfolio investment. Similarly, portfolio machine learning uses artificial neural networks and is not biological neurotechnology. No named neurotechnology company is supported by the reviewed evidence. Undisclosed investments may exist; absence from these sources is not a claim of zero investments.
## Review notes for a later Adex agent
- Preserve exact organization ID `TheoryVentures` and canonical URL https://adex.page/firms/TheoryVentures . The official About page supports a 2023 founding year; Adex currently leaves it null.
- Fund II has strong closed-fund evidence at USD $450 million with announcement date 2024-11-22. Store the separate $688 million current reported AUM with an access date and attribution.
- Preserve Fund I's $230 million launch report versus $238 million retrospective report as a discrepancy until a final-close or filing source resolves it. Do not convert either figure into a check size.
- Current official stage/check strategy differs from Signal: inception through Series B and $1–40 million versus directory Seed/Series A tags and $1–25 million. Signal also labels Andy Triedman Principal whereas the current official biography labels him Partner; review before updating roles.
- Adex's imported portfolio rows lack dates/amounts and set `isLead: false`. This should not be read as proof Theory never led those investments: LanceDB and Ollama have verified lead evidence above. Round totals must not become Theory contribution amounts.
- Sail's $80 million is combined financing, and Superlinked's $12 million-plus is cumulative funding. Avoid manufacturing individual rounds from these totals. Portfolio display stages are not necessarily Theory entry stages.
- Deep-tech fit is conditional and mostly AI/data systems; neurotech fit remains unsupported. Do not import Tomasz Tunguz's pre-Theory Redpoint investments or Andy Triedman's student projects as Theory deals.
- Public portfolio completeness is uncertain; Context.ai's historical issuer mention illustrates that a current display may omit historical positions. This document covers public evidence, not a complete cap table.
All URLs above were checked/accessed 2026-10-06. Undated official pages are current snapshots, not historical announcement dates. This file is a research handoff only; no database or Adex records were changed. SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 8 hours ago
Match research 2026-10-06 / TheoryVentures / sha256:18f4b7ccf55a4877f223df3bcd84464d94d00c25d3414c5b66bb1d69b30f5bf1 / part 1 of 2
Imported completed research. Baseline Adex/Signal statements describe prior state, not independent verification. Retain cited attribution, date, currency and classification caveats.
# Theory Ventures
- Exact Adex ID: `TheoryVentures`
- Adex URL: https://adex.page/firms/TheoryVentures
- Research date: 2026-10-06
- Status: research complete within the public-source scope below. Research only; no Adex changes.
Theory is primarily a software investor. Its latest-known verified fund is the USD $450 million Fund II, announced closed in November 2024. Its current official mandate spans inception through Series B. AI infrastructure investments provide the clearest technically differentiated candidates; no verified neurotech investment was found.
## Starting evidence
The read-only Adex MCP Search snapshot retrieved 2026-10-06 identifies an early-stage firm founded by Tomasz Tunguz focused on AI, modern data infrastructure and Web3. It has no fund-size, check-size or dated round details. Its 15 portfolio entries are Allium, Artemis, BackOps, Doss, Dropzone AI, Initia, Koah, LanceDB, Maze, MotherDuck, Ollama, Omni, Sail Research, Superlinked and Tobiko Data; their supporting claim is the firm portfolio accessed 2026-09-14, not individual funding announcements. Source snapshot: `data/research/_sources/TheoryVentures.adex.json`.
NFX Signal was directly readable at https://signal.nfx.com/firms/theory-ventures (undated; accessed 2026-10-06). It describes early-stage software investing with $1–25 million investments. Profiles for Spencer Farrar, Arjun Mishra and Andy Triedman display $12.5 million sweet spots and $1–25 million ranges; Seed and Series A tags appear. These are directory claims, not independently verified fund sizes. Intro paths require Gmail login.
The official portfolio https://theoryvc.com/portfolio (undated; accessed 2026-10-06) lists the same 15 names, with AI, modern data stack and Web3 categories. Displayed company stages include Seed through Series B, IPO and Acquired; these are portfolio status fields and do not establish Theory's entry stage.
## Fund size and stages
| Fund/metric | Evidence and dates | Assessment |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Fund I, 2023 debut | Cooley, the firm's legal adviser, announced **USD $230 million** on [2023-04-07](https://www.cooley.com/news/coverage/2023/2023-04-07-theory-ventures-announces-230-million-debut-fund ). [Forbes, 2023-04-04](https://www.forbes.com/sites/kenrickcai/2023/04/04/tomasz-tunguz-theory-ventures-launch/ ) also reported $230 million raised. | Confirmed launch-era amount; later firm reporting differs. |
| Fund I, retrospectively stated | Theory's [2024-11-22 press release, syndicated by StreetInsider](https://www.streetinsider.com/Business%2BWire/Theory%2BVentures%2BLaunches%2B%24450%2BMillion%2BSecond%2BFund%2Bfor%2Bthe%2BNext%2BGeneration%2Bof%2BEnterprise%2BSoftware/24020087.html ) gives **USD $238 million**, launched April 2023. | Do not silently overwrite $230 million: a later close or expansion is possible, but was not established here. |
| Fund II, 2024 | The same firm press release explicitly announces **USD $450 million closed**, dated 2024-11-22. [Law360, 2024-11-22](https://www.law360.com/privateequity/articles/2264581/software-focused-vc-firm-closes-2nd-fund-at-450m ) independently reports the close in its readable public introduction. | Latest-known verified individual fund. Earlier [Axios, 2024-11-01](https://www.axios.com/newsletters/axios-pro-rata-720396f8-e423-4c86-a8a9-e68d0a6f1be7 ) reported a $450 million target from a filing; the later close supersedes target-only status. |
| Total AUM | [Official About page](https://theoryvc.com/about ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06: **$688 million AUM**, currently investing Fund II at **USD $450 million**. | AUM is a separate firm-wide metric, not a third fund; the page does not disclose valuation basis. |
No verified Fund III announcement emerged from searches for newer funds through 2026-10-06. This is a latest-known statement, not proof that no additional vehicles exist. Direct access to the original [Business Wire release](https://www.businesswire.com/news/home/20241122545291/en/ ) failed; its full issuer-attributed syndication above was readable.
**Current mandate:** the [official About page](https://theoryvc.com/about ) states **Inception, Seed, Series A and Series B**, with **$1–40 million investments**, a concentrated portfolio of 12–15 core positions per fund, and an early-stage software focus (undated; accessed 2026-10-06). **Historical mandate:** Cooley's 2023 announcement supports Seed and Series A, focused on data, Web3 and machine learning. Signal's $1–25 million range matches the firm's November 2024 press release, but differs from the current $1–40 million official range; retain dates and prefer the present official mandate when later reviewing Adex. Neither range is a fund size, nor is it a disclosed contribution to every round.
## Previous deep-tech investments and technical candidates
Classification is an analytical judgment, not a label supplied by Theory. The verified investments below are AI/data infrastructure with substantial systems or representation-learning work. They may fit a broad deep-tech definition, but public sources do not establish scientific novelty, defensible patents or research risk equivalent to semiconductor, biotech or quantum companies. A narrow physical/scientific deep-tech classification remains unverified. AI neural networks are not evidence of neurotechnology.
| Company | Technical rationale and confidence | Firm attribution, round and dates | Supporting sources |
| --- | --- | --- | --- |
| **LanceDB** | Strongest infrastructure candidate: multimodal storage format and lakehouse engine handling embeddings, images, audio and video for AI training, search and analytics. Technically differentiated data systems; deep-tech classification is conditional. | Company announced **USD $30 million Series A led by Theory**, 2025-06-24. This is total round size; Theory's own check is undisclosed. | [Company announcement, 2025-06-24](https://www.lancedb.com/blog/series-a-funding ); [Reuters syndicated by Yahoo, 2025-06-24](https://tech.yahoo.com/ai/articles/lancedb-raises-30-million-multimodal-100430958.html ); [Theory company profile](https://theoryvc.com/portfolio/lancedb ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06. |
| **Sail Research** | Inference infrastructure optimized for long-running AI agents: GPU/inference-engine optimization, workload scheduling and persistent execution environments. Systems engineering candidate; performance claims originate with the company. | Company announced **USD $80 million combined Seed and Series A financing**, 2026-06-25, naming Theory among participants. Sequoia led Seed; Kleiner Perkins led Series A. The release does not split the $80 million by round or specify Theory's allocation between rounds. | [Issuer press release via PR Newswire, 2026-06-25](https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/sail-research-raises-80-million-to-build-max-efficiency-infrastructure-for-ai-agents-302810497.html ); [Theory profile](https://theoryvc.com/portfolio/sail-research ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06. |
| **Superlinked** | Representation-learning, vector embeddings, retrieval and specialized model inference. Broad AI infrastructure candidate; do not assume ordinary enterprise retrieval equals scientific deep tech. | Official company About page names Theory as an investor, and reports **$12 million-plus cumulative funding** from several investors. Theory profile displays Seed. Exact Theory investment date and round contribution remain unverified. Directory reports of a $9.5 million March 2024 Seed round were not accepted as primary-confirmed transaction details. | [Company About page](https://superlinked.com/about ); [Theory profile](https://theoryvc.com/portfolio/superlinked ), both undated, accessed 2026-10-06. |
| **Ollama** | Open-model deployment/runtime and hybrid local/cloud inference. Technically differentiated developer infrastructure, but primarily a commercialization/deployment layer; borderline under a strict deep-tech definition. | Theory's dated investment article and the company-issued announcement report **USD $65 million Series B led by Theory**, 2026-07-09. Ollama's own blog states **$88 million cumulative financing**, separately from the round. | [Theory investment article](https://theoryvc.com/blog-posts/why-85-of-the-fortune-500-already-runs-ollama-our-investment-in-their-series-b ); [issuer announcement syndicated by AIwire, 2026-07-09](https://www.hpcwire.com/aiwire/2026/07/09/ollama-raises-65m-series-b-funding-to-grow-its-open-source-ai-platform/ ); [company blog, 2026-07-09](https://ollama.com/blog/all-aboard-open-models ). | SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 22 days ago
MATCH