Firms
A Bristol-based venture investor formed after PA Consulting demerged its venture arm in 2008, focused on commercializing intellectual property and technology businesses. Current investment availability is unverified: Asset Match documents an Ipex Fund wind-down and PlaqueTec exit in 2020; IPEX CAPITAL GP LLP was dissolved on 2021-10-05. These facts do not establish cessation of every related entity.
Founded —
Type Venture capital Funds1 Ipex 1 Fund Limited Partnership — — Historical named fund LP013099 from Gazette interesttransfer2013-12-13; amount/vintage/closeunknown. AssetMatch shorthand IpexFund winddown2020 probable but notproven exactLPidentity.
SHOW MORE
TeamNo team members on record yet.
Co-investingNo co-investors on record yet.
Investments
team@apexlogos.ai · 9 hours ago
Investment-fund research reviewed 2026-10-06. Publicly identified funds, dates, amounts and fundraising status are below. Undisclosed commitments remain unknown; this is not a complete register of private SPVs or parallel entities.
Fund size and operational status
| Item | Findings and limitations |
| --- | --- |
| Ipex I Fund / Ipex 1 Fund Limited Partnership | Official Gazette notice identifies registration **LP013099**, and records a transfer of the entire interest of Ipex Capital Limited to Ipex Holdings Limited on **13 December 2013**. This establishes a named fund vehicle, not a fund size, vintage or new fundraising close. [S7] |
| Fund size, currency, target versus close | **Missing.** No substantiated commitment amount, AUM, investment budget or check size found. Preqin public preview does not disclose fund values. No verified newer fund announcement found in searches including 2024–2026. [S8] |
| Fund wind-down | Asset Match's own case study, transaction dated **2020**, describes Ipex Fund reaching the end of its life, selling residual holdings and fully exiting PlaqueTec, then distributing proceeds. Transaction consideration is **undisclosed**. The case study does not explicitly tie the shorthand fund name to LP013099, so that identity is probable but not proven here. [S5] |
| General partner | Companies House lists **IPEX CAPITAL GP LLP, OC389205**, incorporated 14 November 2013, registered office Bristol, **dissolved 5 October 2021**. Do not misread its incorporation as the firm's 2008 establishment date. [S6] |
Acquisition proceeds, historical PA investment in a single company and corporate balance-sheet assets are not fund size. The evidence supports treating the firm as a **historical investor / current availability unverified**, pending review of all related entities. [S5, S6]
Sources
All URLs accessed or attempted **2026-10-06**. Publication dates below are article/release dates where known; undated pages use access date. Original-language summaries above are research judgments grounded in the cited material.
| Ref | Source URL | Date and access / evidence type |
| --- | --- | --- |
| S1 | https://adex.page/firms/IpexCapital ; https://pitchbook.com/profiles/investor/61973-02 | Read-only Adex MCP snapshot retrieved 2026-10-06; PitchBook is baseline evidence, not independently verified here. |
| S2 | https://www.prnewswire.co.uk/news-releases/ipex-capital-announces-sale-of-its-portfolio-company-procserve-499006301.html | **2015-04-08**, directly read, Ipex-issued release. |
| S3 | https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/simon-mcelrea-ceo-semblant-498223651.html | **2015-03-31** page / **2015-04-01** dateline; directly read, Semblant-issued release. |
| S4 | https://www.presseportal.ch/de/pm/100056488/100759442 | **2014-07-29**, directly read/search indexed; company-issued CE-mark release in German, also syndicated at https://www.europapress.es/economia/noticia-comunicado-plaquetec-asegura-marca-ce-sistema-biopsia-liquida-20140729083119.html . |
| S5 | https://www.assetmatch.com/case-studies/ | Undated adviser page, transaction explicitly **2020**, directly read. |
| S6 | https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/OC389205 | Official Companies House overview, directly read; dissolution **2021-10-05**. |
| S7 | https://www.thegazette.co.uk/London/issue/60726 | Official Gazette issue, notice dated **2013-12-13**, search-index evidence; fund transfer, no size. |
| S8 | https://www.preqin.com/data/profile/fund-manager/ipex-capital/92020 | Undated public directory preview, search-index readable; financial details subscriber-only. |
| S9 | https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06212970/charges | Official Companies House, search-index evidence; charge dates **2012-10-17**, **2018-03-16**. |
| S10 | https://signal.nfx.com/ | Undated homepage directly read; no matching firm/team profile found by site-restricted searches. |
| S11 | https://www.the-independent.com/news/business/news/aegate-steals-a-march-in-war-against-counterfeit-drugs-1030822.html | **2008-11-22** displayed US date, directly read; Paul Rodgers, independent reporting. |
| S12 | https://www.haysplc.com/~/media/Files/H/Hays/documents/Hays_Journal_Issue_12_Book_web.pdf | **2016**, Hays Journal issue 12, search-index accessible official publisher PDF; historical ventures chronology. |
| S13 | https://www.the-independent.com/news/business/analysis-and-features/a-perfect-partnership-between-the-geeks-and-suits-2198268.html | **2011-01-29** displayed US date, directly read; independent reporting. |
| S14 | https://liberopharma.com/about-us/ ; https://www.plaquetec.com/about-us ; https://www.plaquetec.com/ | Undated official company pages, search-index evidence / PlaqueTec homepage directly read. |
| S15 | https://brilliantpath.com/work/ipex-capital/ ; https://ipex-investorzone.com/ | Undated branding client page directly read; baseline investor-zone site web-reader error. |
Funds recorded in Adex after this review:
| Fund | Disclosed amount | Announcement / filing date |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Ipex 1 Fund Limited Partnership | Undisclosed / unverified | Unknown | SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 10 hours ago
Match research 2026-10-06 / IpexCapital / sha256:7de68de94e3297230cf47993d0d31a53900dc0dd7d11c319cd19f1c0e39dbb81 / part 2 of 2
Imported completed research. Baseline Adex/Signal statements describe prior state, not independent verification. Retain cited attribution, date, currency and classification caveats.
**Adjacent lead, not verified Ipex investment:** Libero Pharma's official team page says founder/chair Martin Stapleton previously ran Ipex Capital and that Libero works in psychiatric/CNS treatment. It does **not** identify Ipex as an investor. Its naltrexone transdermal drug-delivery work is adjacent CNS/pharmaceutical technology, not automatically direct neurotech. Do not transfer a principal's later venture into Ipex's portfolio without funding evidence. PlaqueTec's cardiovascular work and Aegate's medicine authentication likewise are not direct neurotech. [S14, S4, S11]
## Missing/conflicting information and handoff for an Adex reviewer
1. Verify whether any successor investment entity remains active before representing Ipex as currently investable. The 2020 fund wind-down and 2021 GP dissolution materially qualify current-match status; no change was made here.
2. Preserve unknown fund size and check-size fields. Find fund partnership/LP disclosures if needed; do not substitute exit proceeds, one company's funding or similarly named investors' capital totals.
3. Retain Semblant and PlaqueTec as independently corroborated direct investments, with stronger company/adviser citations than the baseline PitchBook link. Do not assign announcement dates as original round dates.
4. Review Meridica and UbiNetics attribution: the checked reporting places their exits in PA's pre-Ipex period. Distinguish predecessor track record rather than silently deleting or approving those Adex participations.
5. Historic 2011 reporting still calls Ipex PA's venture arm, whereas the baseline says it separated in 2008. This may be shorthand; a primary separation announcement was not located. Founding and precise ownership transition remain qualified.
6. Baseline website `https://ipex-investorzone.com/` failed to load through the web reader. Brilliant Path's project page verifies the client name visually/textually but supplies little financial information. Modern similarly named African structured-finance IPEX Capital Partners, crypto IPEX ecosystem and KfW IPEX-Bank should not be merged with this Bristol/PA-linked firm.
7. The portfolio and absence-of-neurotech finding are not exhaustive; no NFX profile was located and fund documents were not obtained. Re-check these before updating Adex.
## Sources
All URLs accessed or attempted **2026-10-06**. Publication dates below are article/release dates where known; undated pages use access date. Original-language summaries above are research judgments grounded in the cited material.
| Ref | Source URL | Date and access / evidence type |
| --- | --- | --- |
| S1 | https://adex.page/firms/IpexCapital ; https://pitchbook.com/profiles/investor/61973-02 | Read-only Adex MCP snapshot retrieved 2026-10-06; PitchBook is baseline evidence, not independently verified here. |
| S2 | https://www.prnewswire.co.uk/news-releases/ipex-capital-announces-sale-of-its-portfolio-company-procserve-499006301.html | **2015-04-08**, directly read, Ipex-issued release. |
| S3 | https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/simon-mcelrea-ceo-semblant-498223651.html | **2015-03-31** page / **2015-04-01** dateline; directly read, Semblant-issued release. |
| S4 | https://www.presseportal.ch/de/pm/100056488/100759442 | **2014-07-29**, directly read/search indexed; company-issued CE-mark release in German, also syndicated at https://www.europapress.es/economia/noticia-comunicado-plaquetec-asegura-marca-ce-sistema-biopsia-liquida-20140729083119.html . |
| S5 | https://www.assetmatch.com/case-studies/ | Undated adviser page, transaction explicitly **2020**, directly read. |
| S6 | https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/OC389205 | Official Companies House overview, directly read; dissolution **2021-10-05**. |
| S7 | https://www.thegazette.co.uk/London/issue/60726 | Official Gazette issue, notice dated **2013-12-13**, search-index evidence; fund transfer, no size. |
| S8 | https://www.preqin.com/data/profile/fund-manager/ipex-capital/92020 | Undated public directory preview, search-index readable; financial details subscriber-only. |
| S9 | https://find-and-update.company-information.service.gov.uk/company/06212970/charges | Official Companies House, search-index evidence; charge dates **2012-10-17**, **2018-03-16**. |
| S10 | https://signal.nfx.com/ | Undated homepage directly read; no matching firm/team profile found by site-restricted searches. |
| S11 | https://www.the-independent.com/news/business/news/aegate-steals-a-march-in-war-against-counterfeit-drugs-1030822.html | **2008-11-22** displayed US date, directly read; Paul Rodgers, independent reporting. |
| S12 | https://www.haysplc.com/~/media/Files/H/Hays/documents/Hays_Journal_Issue_12_Book_web.pdf | **2016**, Hays Journal issue 12, search-index accessible official publisher PDF; historical ventures chronology. |
| S13 | https://www.the-independent.com/news/business/analysis-and-features/a-perfect-partnership-between-the-geeks-and-suits-2198268.html | **2011-01-29** displayed US date, directly read; independent reporting. |
| S14 | https://liberopharma.com/about-us/ ; https://www.plaquetec.com/about-us ; https://www.plaquetec.com/ | Undated official company pages, search-index evidence / PlaqueTec homepage directly read. |
| S15 | https://brilliantpath.com/work/ipex-capital/ ; https://ipex-investorzone.com/ | Undated branding client page directly read; baseline investor-zone site web-reader error. | SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 10 hours ago
Match research 2026-10-06 / IpexCapital / sha256:7de68de94e3297230cf47993d0d31a53900dc0dd7d11c319cd19f1c0e39dbb81 / part 1 of 2
Imported completed research. Baseline Adex/Signal statements describe prior state, not independent verification. Retain cited attribution, date, currency and classification caveats.
# Ipex Capital
- **Exact Adex ID:** `IpexCapital`
- **Canonical Adex URL:** https://adex.page/firms/IpexCapital
- **Research date / sources accessed:** 2026-10-06
- **Status:** Research complete within the public sources checked; research only, no Adex changes.
Ipex Capital historically commercialized early intellectual property, including nanomaterials company **Semblant** and cardiovascular diagnostic company **PlaqueTec**. Its historical strategy covered proof of concept and startup company formation. **Fund size is not publicly verified. Current investment activity is uncertain:** a transaction adviser documents the Ipex Fund winding down and exiting PlaqueTec in 2020; Companies House records its general partner dissolved in 2021. No verified neurotech investment found in the sources checked. These conclusions do not establish that every Ipex-related entity ceased operating. [S2, S3, S4, S5, S6]
## Starting evidence: Adex MCP and NFX Signal
The read-only Adex MCP `Search` baseline was retrieved 2026-10-06 at 19:28:54 UTC from `http://localhost:3000/mcp` , querying Org, term `Ipex Capital`, label `Match`. The exact record is present, ID `IpexCapital`, investor ID 6076. It describes a Bristol investor formed after PA Consulting demerged its venture arm in 2008. No founding date, check minimum/maximum, sweet spot or social profiles are populated. Six investment participations are recorded: **Semblant, PlaqueTec, Aegate, ProcServe, Meridica and UbiNetics**; all have unknown transaction dates and amounts. The first, second, third, fifth and sixth use PitchBook as their baseline attribution; ProcServe uses the firm's 2015 release. These are starting claims, not independent verification. Snapshot: `data/research/_sources/IpexCapital.adex.json`. [S1]
The baseline has no NFX Signal URL. Searches of `site:signal.nfx.com` for Ipex, Ipex Capital, Martin Stapleton and Jon Moynihan did not identify a matching firm or team profile. The Signal homepage was directly readable, but no firm-specific profile was located or read. **NFX investment stages, check sizes and portfolio evidence remain unavailable**; search absence is not evidence that no profile exists. Do not invent a profile URL. [S10]
## Fund size and operational status
| Item | Findings and limitations |
| --- | --- |
| Ipex I Fund / Ipex 1 Fund Limited Partnership | Official Gazette notice identifies registration **LP013099**, and records a transfer of the entire interest of Ipex Capital Limited to Ipex Holdings Limited on **13 December 2013**. This establishes a named fund vehicle, not a fund size, vintage or new fundraising close. [S7] |
| Fund size, currency, target versus close | **Missing.** No substantiated commitment amount, AUM, investment budget or check size found. Preqin public preview does not disclose fund values. No verified newer fund announcement found in searches including 2024–2026. [S8] |
| Fund wind-down | Asset Match's own case study, transaction dated **2020**, describes Ipex Fund reaching the end of its life, selling residual holdings and fully exiting PlaqueTec, then distributing proceeds. Transaction consideration is **undisclosed**. The case study does not explicitly tie the shorthand fund name to LP013099, so that identity is probable but not proven here. [S5] |
| General partner | Companies House lists **IPEX CAPITAL GP LLP, OC389205**, incorporated 14 November 2013, registered office Bristol, **dissolved 5 October 2021**. Do not misread its incorporation as the firm's 2008 establishment date. [S6] |
Acquisition proceeds, historical PA investment in a single company and corporate balance-sheet assets are not fund size. The evidence supports treating the firm as a **historical investor / current availability unverified**, pending review of all related entities. [S5, S6]
## Investment stages
**Historically verified mandate:** the firm's 8 April 2015 release says it sourced nascent IP, funded proof of concept and then recruited teams to build companies. Its Procserve investment supported startup, initial product development and later growth through exit. This supports **proof of concept / pre-seed-like incubation and early-stage/startup**, without assigning modern named round labels to undocumented transactions. [S2]
Asset Match describes the fund's historical focus as early-stage healthcare and technology. Preqin's directory additionally labels early-stage/startup, management buyout and general venture; the buyout classification is directory evidence rather than a verified current official mandate. No active 2026 stage policy was verified. [S5, S8]
## Previous deep-tech investments and attribution checks
| Company | Technology and classification | Ipex attribution, date and transaction evidence |
| --- | --- | --- |
| **Semblant** | **Verified deep tech:** advanced nanomaterials and plasma processes for electronics manufacturing; coatings and material/process engineering rather than ordinary software. | Semblant's own announcement calls Ipex Capital its **majority investor** and identifies principal Martin Stapleton as a director. Page publication **31 March 2015**; release dateline **1 April 2015**, a minor date discrepancy worth retaining. This is an ownership confirmation, **not a financing-round announcement**; original investment date, amount and stage unknown. [S3] |
| **PlaqueTec** | **Verified deep tech / medtech:** proprietary intracoronary liquid biopsy engineering and molecular biomarker profiling for coronary artery disease. Cardiovascular technology, **not neurotech**. | Company's **29 July 2014** CE-mark release explicitly says IPEX Capital funded design and engineering of its liquid biopsy system. It describes a 2008 PA spinout, but does not give an exact investment date or round amount. An official UK charge record separately identifies Ipex Capital Limited as chargee on a debenture created **17 October 2012**, satisfied **16 March 2018**; this is debt/security evidence, not an equity-round size. Asset Match confirms the fund's full exit in **2020**, undisclosed consideration. [S4, S5, S9] |
| **Aegate** | **Verified investment; deep-tech classification uncertain:** pharmaceutical authentication using package barcodes, secure data infrastructure and real-time checks. A healthcare security/traceability technology investment; the checked material does not establish a distinctive scientific or hardware breakthrough. | The Independent explicitly names Ipex Capital as backer on **22 November 2008**. Hays' 2016 journal says PA invested £15m in 2005 and sold the business to IPEX in 2008. **£15m is PA's historical company investment, not Ipex fund size or an Ipex check.** Round and Ipex consideration unknown. [S11, S12] |
| **Meridica** | **Predecessor deep-tech track record, attribution caveat:** engineered drug-delivery systems, including a dry-powder inhaler. | Adex attributes it to Ipex. Hays dates sale to Pfizer to **November 2004**, before the asserted 2008 separation, and identifies PA as creator. The Independent describes it as PA's drug-delivery venture. Treat as **PA Ventures predecessor history**, not a verified direct post-separation Ipex investment. [S12, S13] |
| **UbiNetics** | **Predecessor deep-tech track record, attribution caveat:** 3G telecommunications technology and wireless testing equipment. | Adex attributes it to Ipex. Hays says PA founded it in 1999 and sold it in **2005**. This predates the 2008 separation. The Independent corroborates the wireless testing business but rounds sale proceeds to $130m. Treat as **PA predecessor history**, not a verified direct post-separation Ipex investment. Sale value is not invested capital. [S12, S13] |
**ProcServe:** Ipex's own release verifies investment and the sale to Basware on **8 April 2015**, tracing support from startup through growth. Its secure B2B procurement/e-marketplace product is an enterprise software/network business; the checked sources do not justify marking it deep tech. Initial investment date and check size remain unknown. [S2]
## Neurotech investments
**No verified neurotech investment found in the sources checked.** The checks covered the Adex portfolio, firm/partner searches with brain/neurotech terms, official portfolio technology descriptions and historical reporting. None established investment in neural interfaces, brain sensing, neurostimulation or other direct neurotechnology. SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 22 days ago
MATCH