Firms
Early-stage investor in frontier technology and businesses that fundamentally transform markets, principally pre-seed/seed in the UK, Europe and US. Fund 2 backs MindPortal (direct BCI); biological-neuron computation is distinct from human BCI. Individual team angel/SPV investments require separate attribution.
Founded —
Type Venture capital Funds3 Fund I — personal capital and SPVs 2014 2014 — Approximately US$6M according to GP Jeff Crusey, described as raised in 2014. The official homepage clarifies that “Fund 1” combines founder personal capital, direct investments and SPVs; this is not necessarily one conventional blind-pool fund. [Mountside partner interview](https://medium.com/mountside-ventures/vc-spotlight-with-7-ventures-c01eaa7bf670), 2024-11-05; [official homepage](https://www.7pc.vc/), undated, accessed 2026-10-06.
Fund II — — Approximately USD40M reported in GP interview 2024-11-05; secondary database USD39.25M/2020-01-03 not independently LP verified. BBB-backed Enterprise Capital Fund. Amount left null to preserve approximate reporting.
Fund III — — USD100M fundraising target stated by GP on 2024-11-05, not closed capital/AUM; no final close verified.
SHOW MORE
Team Investments$— Unknown date MindPortal Y Combinator , 7percent Ventures $10M 2025-02-25 Magdrive Redalpine , Founders Fund , Alumni Ventures , 7percent Ventures , Courtside Ventures , Entrepreneurs First $4M 2022-11-16 SigmaOS Y Combinator , 7percent Ventures , Pioneer Fund , Costanoa Ventures , Cocoa , TrueSight Ventures , Moonfire Ventures $1M 2020-12-17 Magdrive Founders Fund , Luminous Ventures , 7percent Ventures , Entrepreneurs First $— 2020-12-17 Magdrive Founders Fund , 7percent Ventures , Luminous Ventures , Innovate UK , European Innovation Council (EIC) $1M 2020-12-17 Magdrive Founders Fund , 7percent Ventures , Luminous Ventures , Entrepreneurs First $2M 2020-07-02 QuestDB Y Combinator , Seedcamp , 7percent Ventures , Kima Ventures , Episode 1 $12M 2019-08-29 Koru Kids Founders Fund , 7percent Ventures , Atomico , Samos Investments , Forward Partners , AlbionVC $4M 2018 Orangewood Labs Y Combinator , 7percent Ventures $5M 2016-05-06 Eonite Perception Lightspeed Venture Partners , Signia Venture Partners , Amr Awadallah , CLI Ventures , Greg Castle , 7percent Ventures , Presence Capital , Nader Shenouda , Andy Bechtolsheim , Greg Richardson $4M Unknown date Orangewood Y Combinator , 7percent Ventures , VentureSouq $— Unknown date MAGDRIVE LTD Founders Fund , Luminous Ventures , Innovate UK , 7percent Ventures , European Innovation Council (EIC) $10M Unknown date Magdrive Redalpine , Founders Fund , Alumni Ventures , 7percent Ventures , Entrepreneurs First , Courtside Ventures
SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 2 days ago
Investment-fund research reviewed 2026-10-06. Publicly identified funds, dates, amounts and fundraising status are below. Undisclosed commitments remain unknown; this is not a complete register of private SPVs or parallel entities.
Fund sizes and investment stages
| Vehicle / measure | Evidence and status | Source and date |
|---|---|---|
| Fund I | Approximately **US$6M** according to GP Jeff Crusey, described as raised in 2014. The official homepage clarifies that “Fund 1” combines founder personal capital, direct investments and SPVs; this is not necessarily one conventional blind-pool fund. | [Mountside partner interview](https://medium.com/mountside-ventures/vc-spotlight-with-7-ventures-c01eaa7bf670 ), 2024-11-05; [official homepage](https://www.7pc.vc/ ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06. |
| Fund II | Approximately **US$40M** in the same GP interview. Official site identifies it as a British Business Bank-backed Enterprise Capital Fund. CB Insights lists **US$39.25M**, closed **2020-01-03**; treat precise amount/date as secondary database reporting, not independently confirmed LP documentation. | Interview above; [CB Insights fund history](https://www.cbinsights.com/investor/7percent ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06. |
| Fund III | **US$100M target**, fundraising at the time of the November 2024 interview. UK/Europe and US pre-seed/seed strategy, leaning toward pre-seed. **No verified final close or amount found** in newer official-site and public search checks through research date; do not describe $100M as closed capital or current AUM. | Mountside interview, 2024-11-05. |
| Institutional checks | **US$250K–US$2M**, typically alongside other investors. Separate team-member angel tickets are **US$5K–US$100K**. These are check sizes, not fund sizes. | [Official investment thesis](https://www.7pc.vc/how-we-invest ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06. |
The current official thesis supports **pre-seed and seed**, frequently first or second institutional money, including pre-revenue concepts. It says most investments have been in the UK, US and Europe. Historical later-stage investments and angel/SPV portfolio entries do not establish a general growth-stage mandate. The [official contact FAQ](https://www.7pc.vc/contact ) still says an opportunity fund was expected in 2024; this forward-looking text is stale and does not prove launch or close. Portfolio follow-on fundraising ($2.3bn displayed on the homepage) is **capital raised by investees**, not 7percent AUM.
Funds recorded in Adex after this review:
| Fund | Disclosed amount | Announcement / filing date |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Fund II | Undisclosed / unverified | Unknown |
| Fund III | Undisclosed / unverified | Unknown |
| Fund I — personal capital and SPVs | Undisclosed / unverified | 2014 | SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 2 days ago
Match research 2026-10-06 / Firm7percentVentures / sha256:ce4a9d3412c8c1a00d70570ffc1e8b61cabb70a6f42e35225e0ef5d73486d8fd / part 2 of 2
Imported completed research. Baseline Adex/Signal statements describe prior state, not independent verification. Retain cited attribution, date, currency and classification caveats.
| **Eonite Perception** — secondary-supported historical exposure | Computer vision and depth-sensor-based mapping/inside-out AR/VR tracking. Dealroom names 7percent among investors. | Secondary data supports approximately **US$5.25M, May 2016**. Date differs: Adex 2016-05-06 vs CB Insights 2016-05-05. Dealroom's table says seed, its prose says Series A. No original company/firm announcement naming this investor retrieved; keep lower confidence and vehicle unspecified. | [Dealroom](https://app.dealroom.co/companies/eonite_perception ); [CB Insights financing entry](https://www.cbinsights.com/investor/nader-shenouda ), both undated, accessed 2026-10-06. |
SigmaOS (browser), Koru Kids (childcare marketplace) and general database/software exposure are not counted as deep tech merely because they appear in Adex. The official portfolio includes both frontier and transformative categories and explicitly marks numerous entries **Angel**; examples such as Cambridge Aerospace or xAI must not automatically be attributed to Fund 2.
## Named previous neurotechnology investments
### MindPortal — verified direct neurotech / BCI
MindPortal develops non-invasive acquisition and decoding of human brain signals for interaction with computers/AI. Both the [7percent portfolio page](https://www.7pc.vc/portfolio/mind-portal ) (undated) and [MindPortal's current website](https://mindportal.com/ ) (undated) independently name the relationship; the firm allocates it to **Fund 2**. Technology capability claims on those pages remain issuer/investor assertions, not independent clinical validation.
The strongest financing evidence is MindPortal's [2021-05-24 company announcement](https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/mindportal-raises-5-million-led-by-learn-capital-and-participants-include-a-rockstar-and-several-high-profile-individuals-301297148.html ). It announces a **US$5M seed led by Learn Capital** and identifies **7pc and YC as previous pre-seed investors**. Thus the release verifies earlier 7percent participation, **not fresh participation in that $5M seed**. Original pre-seed amount and exact day remain undisclosed in primary evidence. Crunchbase gives 2020-06-05 pre-seed; Dealroom gives June 2020 seed; Wellfound instead reports May 2020/$5M pre-seed. These aggregator conflicts should not override the company announcement.
The snapshot's **2023-12-06 “round”** links to a [MindPortal technology-breakthrough release](https://www.prnewswire.com/news-releases/mindportal-announces-major-breakthrough-with-first-successful-non-invasive-seamless-telepathic-human-ai-communication-with-a-large-language-model-302007756.html ), published 2023-12-06. It names 7percent as a backer but announces a research result rather than new financing. **Do not retain that date as an independently verified investment-round date.** Dealroom marks the company “closed,” whereas its site remains live; operating status needs separate investigation.
### Biological Black Box / The Biological Computing Co. — verified biological-neuron computing exposure; classify separately
The firm's [2025-12-22 year review](https://7percent.substack.com/p/25-frontiers-in-2025 ) describes Biological Black Box's Bionode platform combining living, lab-grown neurons and conventional processors. The firm's [public portfolio discussion](https://www.linkedin.com/posts/7pcventures_ai-activity-7346927636645879808-N2Do ) also names BBB among portfolio companies. A [partner post](https://www.linkedin.com/posts/activity-7427640140493254656-mPX6 ) calls The Biological Computing Co. a 7percent portfolio company and reproduces its founder's statement that it was formerly BBB. The [current company website](https://www.tbc.co/ ) was directly opened; it supports biological computation, but does not visibly identify 7percent or a financing amount in extracted text.
This exposure uses **real biological neurons**, rather than merely an artificial neural-network metaphor, so is relevant to neurotechnology broadly. It is **not evidence of a human BCI, neural therapy or patient-facing medical device**. Convertible-note date 2025-03-31 appears in [Crunchbase](https://www.crunchbase.com/organization/7-percent/recent_investments ), but primary transaction date, check, fund vehicle and financing structure remain unverified. The partner post mentions $25M company funding; this cannot be treated as 7percent's check or one verified round without original announcement review.
Limbic appears in person/firm portfolio discussion but is AI mental-health software; it is **adjacent mental health**, not established direct brain measurement/stimulation. No additional direct neurotech investment was verified in the sources checked.
## Review notes, conflicts and missing information
1. Add a sourced firm description and institutional pre-seed/seed mandate only after later Adex review. Keep personal Signal check ranges distinct from $250K–$2M firm checks.
2. Store Fund I's unusual personal/SPV composition; distinguish approximately $40M Fund II from $100M **target** Fund III. No aggregate AUM or Fund III closing is verified. Search newer LP/manager announcements before labeling any vehicle latest closed.
3. Review duplicate Magdrive rounds/participations (2020-12-17 and 2025, plus MAGDRIVE LTD alias). Change 2025 stage only after checking original financing records; primary lead investor evidence says seed. Avoid conflating grant funding with equity rounds.
4. Review MindPortal's 2023-12-06 entry as likely technology-news misclassification. Verified relationship predates May 2021 seed. Do not infer that backer mention creates a new financing event.
5. Resolve Orangewood/Orangewood Labs alias and the questionable 2018 $4.5M date. Keep stage unconfirmed when databases disagree.
6. Eonite is supported by multiple databases but lacks primary round confirmation; Avere generic text remains unverified. Flag both rather than claiming more firm investments.
7. Distinguish branded portfolio, formal funds, SPVs and team angels. Named official Fund 2 entries offer stronger institutional attribution than person histories. No partner's prior-employer transaction is attributed here.
All linked sources were checked/accessed **2026-10-06**; publication dates are given where established, otherwise sources are undated. Search-index-only evidence is identified. This file is research for later review; no Adex/database mutation, MCP Patch or commit was performed. SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 2 days ago
Match research 2026-10-06 / Firm7percentVentures / sha256:ce4a9d3412c8c1a00d70570ffc1e8b61cabb70a6f42e35225e0ef5d73486d8fd / part 1 of 2
Imported completed research. Baseline Adex/Signal statements describe prior state, not independent verification. Retain cited attribution, date, currency and classification caveats.
# 7percent Ventures
- **Exact Adex ID:** `Firm7percentVentures`
- **Canonical Adex URL:** https://adex.page/firms/Firm7percentVentures
- **Research date:** 2026-10-06
- **Status:** complete research review; material uncertainties explicitly retained.
7percent Ventures is an early-stage, founder-led investor operating across the UK, Europe and US. Its official mandate combines frontier technology with businesses that fundamentally transform markets. Verified firm-level deep-tech examples include Magdrive, Universal Quantum, Vaire Computing, Orangewood and BioOrbit. **MindPortal is a verified direct neurotechnology investment**, explicitly allocated to Fund 2 by the official portfolio. Biological Black Box/The Biological Computing Co. is a second, distinct biological-neuron computing exposure supported by the firm's own statements; it should be classified separately from a human brain-computer interface. Sources and attribution limits follow.
## Starting evidence: Adex and NFX Signal
The saved read-only Adex MCP snapshot `_sources/Firm7percentVentures.adex.json`, retrieved 2026-10-06 at 19:29:45 UTC, matches this exact ID and webpage. It supplies no description, founding date or firm check sizes, names Andrew J Scott as Partner, and gives San Francisco/London locations. Its investment records include Magdrive (2020 and 2025), MindPortal (2023-12-06), SigmaOS, QuestDB, Koru Kids, Orangewood/Orangewood Labs and Eonite Perception. Many participation sources are Goldilocks aggregation rather than direct transaction announcements. A generic assertion mentions “Avere Systems or Eonite Perception” without identifying which; **Avere Systems remains unverified**. The baseline is a lead, not independent verification.
The [NFX firm profile](https://signal.nfx.com/firms/7percent-ventures ) was directly opened, but rendered only name, San Francisco/London locations and co-investor navigation; no fund amount or firm mandate was visible. [Andrew J Scott's profile](https://signal.nfx.com/investors/andrew-j-scott ) was directly read: it identifies a founding partner, displays a $5K–$2M investment range and $500K sweet spot, and ranks him in DeepTech pre-seed/seed, materials, space and robotics among other categories. [Andrew Gault's profile](https://signal.nfx.com/investors/andrew-gault ) was search-index accessible and shows Founding Partner, $400K–$860K range/$630K sweet spot, plus AR/VR, AI and robotics rankings. All are undated, accessed 2026-10-06. These are **person-level profiles**, mixing VC/angel roles; their ranges and historical records must not be copied as the institutional firm's current mandate. Official firm guidance below is stronger.
## Fund sizes and investment stages
| Vehicle / measure | Evidence and status | Source and date |
|---|---|---|
| Fund I | Approximately **US$6M** according to GP Jeff Crusey, described as raised in 2014. The official homepage clarifies that “Fund 1” combines founder personal capital, direct investments and SPVs; this is not necessarily one conventional blind-pool fund. | [Mountside partner interview](https://medium.com/mountside-ventures/vc-spotlight-with-7-ventures-c01eaa7bf670 ), 2024-11-05; [official homepage](https://www.7pc.vc/ ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06. |
| Fund II | Approximately **US$40M** in the same GP interview. Official site identifies it as a British Business Bank-backed Enterprise Capital Fund. CB Insights lists **US$39.25M**, closed **2020-01-03**; treat precise amount/date as secondary database reporting, not independently confirmed LP documentation. | Interview above; [CB Insights fund history](https://www.cbinsights.com/investor/7percent ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06. |
| Fund III | **US$100M target**, fundraising at the time of the November 2024 interview. UK/Europe and US pre-seed/seed strategy, leaning toward pre-seed. **No verified final close or amount found** in newer official-site and public search checks through research date; do not describe $100M as closed capital or current AUM. | Mountside interview, 2024-11-05. |
| Institutional checks | **US$250K–US$2M**, typically alongside other investors. Separate team-member angel tickets are **US$5K–US$100K**. These are check sizes, not fund sizes. | [Official investment thesis](https://www.7pc.vc/how-we-invest ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06. |
The current official thesis supports **pre-seed and seed**, frequently first or second institutional money, including pre-revenue concepts. It says most investments have been in the UK, US and Europe. Historical later-stage investments and angel/SPV portfolio entries do not establish a general growth-stage mandate. The [official contact FAQ](https://www.7pc.vc/contact ) still says an opportunity fund was expected in 2024; this forward-looking text is stale and does not prove launch or close. Portfolio follow-on fundraising ($2.3bn displayed on the homepage) is **capital raised by investees**, not 7percent AUM.
## Named previous deep-tech investments
| Company | Technology rationale and firm attribution | Round/date and caveats | Supporting sources |
|---|---|---|---|
| **Magdrive** | Plasma/electric propulsion for spacecraft; official portfolio assigns it to **Fund 2**. | Redalpine confirms **US$10.5M seed**, with 7percent participating, in its 2025-03-04 newsletter. Contemporary reporting is dated 2025-02-25. This contradicts Adex's Series A label. The snapshot also has multiple 2020-12-17 £1.4M seed records and an alias MAGDRIVE LTD; these appear to describe one underlying transaction, not several investments. Exact 2020 vehicle/check not re-established here. | [Official portfolio](https://www.7pc.vc/portfolio/magdrive ), undated; [Redalpine newsletter](https://www.redalpine.com/post/welcome-to-our-february-newsletter ), 2025-03-04; [TechCrunch](https://techcrunch.com/2025/02/25/redalpine-founders-fund-back-magdrives-electric-thruster-business/ ), 2025-02-25, confirms participation. |
| **Universal Quantum** | Scalable quantum-computing hardware; official firm page explicitly labels **Fund 2**. | Firm investment verified; no precise financing date, amount or lead role established in this review. “Million-qubit” language is the company's technological ambition, not a validated delivered product. | [Official portfolio](https://www.7pc.vc/portfolio/universal-quantum ), undated; [investee press material](https://universalquantum.com/themes/quantum/assets/UQ_Press_Release.pdf ), date not established. |
| **Vaire Computing** | Reversible-computing chip architecture aims to reduce energy dissipation; genuine hardware research rather than ordinary SaaS. **Fund 2** official portfolio. | Firm says it backed the company before incorporation and **led its October 2021 pre-seed**. Round size not disclosed in that source. Performance forecasts are investor claims, not independent measurements. | [Official investment rationale](https://www.7pc.vc/blog/why-we-invested-vaire ), 2024-02-07; [portfolio](https://www.7pc.vc/portfolio/vaire-computing ), undated. |
| **Orangewood Labs / OrangeWood** | Industrial robotic arms and machine-learning control; official page places it in **Fund 2**. | $4.5M participation reported 2023-08-02. Stage disputed: Seedtable calls seed; CB Insights calls Series A; reporting describes a financing tranche. Adex's 2018 $4.5M entry is not substantiated by this later reporting; 2018 is also its YC cohort year. | [Official portfolio](https://www.7pc.vc/portfolio/orangewood ), undated; [TechCrunch](https://techcrunch.com/2023/08/02/orangewood-wants-to-build-a-cheap-programmable-robotic-arm-for-manufacturing/ ), 2023-08-02; [CB Insights](https://www.cbinsights.com/company/orangewood-labs/financials ), undated. |
| **BioOrbit** | Hardware for protein-drug crystallization in microgravity; space manufacturing/biotechnology, not neurotech. Official portfolio identifies **Fund 2** and 2024 entry. | Transaction counsel reports participation in **US$13.2M (£9.8M) seed**, announced **2026-04-30**, co-led by LocalGlobe/BREEGA. 7percent's individual check not disclosed. | [Official firm investment rationale](https://www.7pc.vc/blog/why-we-invested-bioorbit ), 2025-01-16; [official portfolio](https://www.7pc.vc/portfolio ); [Wilson Sonsini client announcements](https://www.wsgr.com/en/insights/index.html?at=1597 ), 2026-05-06. | SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 23 days ago
MATCH