Firms
UK venture and accelerator platform operated by Outlier Capital LLP (OC404177). Its historical pre-seed and seed Web3 investments use equity and tokens. Active Fund II in 2026 expands its AI, Atoms and Association thesis across technological sovereignty; fund size, check range and entry stages remain undisclosed. Portfolio fundraising totals describe money raised by companies and protocols, rather than manager fund commitments or AUM.
Founded 2014
Type Venture capital Funds2 Fund I — — Official2013-2026history labels deploymentcomplete/closed. USD400M raised INTO 400+ startups/protocols isportfoliofundraising, notverifiedLPfundamount; founding2014 vs2013historyunresolved.
Fund II — — Officialactive2026 vehicle, June2026 expandedthesis. Amount/currency/target/closingdate andstagepolicy undisclosed; active notfinalcloseproof.
SHOW MORE
Team$1M $100K – $5M $100K $100K – $100K
SHOW MORE
Investments
team@apexlogos.ai · 7 hours ago
Investment-fund research reviewed 2026-10-06. Publicly identified funds, dates, amounts and fundraising status are below. Undisclosed commitments remain unknown; this is not a complete register of private SPVs or parallel entities.
Fund size, vintage and financing model
| Vehicle or metric | Finding and date | Interpretation / source |
|---|---|---|
| Fund II | Official site labels Fund II active in 2026; June 2026 thesis. Amount, currency, target and final-close date not disclosed in accessible pages. | [Fund II](https://outlierventures.io/fund-ii ), accessed 2026-10-06. Latest-known named vehicle in the checked sources. An active label is not a verified final close. |
| Fund I | Current site labels 2013–2026, deployment complete and closed. States $400M raised into over 400 startups/protocols. | [Fund I](https://outlierventures.io/fund-i ), undated page with 2013–2026 labeling, accessed 2026-10-06. The wording concerns money raised into portfolio businesses, not a demonstrated $400M LP fund commitment. Currency shown as dollars without an explicit currency code. |
| Historical structure | Firm stated it invested its own partners' money and had not created a conventional third-party LP fund, management fees or carry. | [We are an accelerator](https://outlierventures.io/article/we-are-an-accelerator/ ), 2020-01-27. Historical description; cannot assume it still describes Fund II. |
| Portfolio fundraising / network values | Partner directory shows $1bn raised across portfolio and $11bn network value. | [Official directory](https://portfolio.outlierventures.io/ ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06. Neither number is fund size, AUM or capital available for new investments. Different denominators/timeframes may explain discrepancy with Fund I's $400M. |
| Current accelerator admission funding | Outlier-branded accelerator landing page advertises $200k on admission and preregistration for 2026. | [Outliers accelerator](https://www.outliers.io/ ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06. Program offer, not verified universal check size or fund amount; terms not fully available. |
| Historical AI x Crypto Base Camp | Up to $100,000 stipend, 12-week program beginning 2024-05-20; agreed equity stake and future token supply. | [AI Base Camp](https://outlierventures.io/base-camp/ai-base-camp/ ), dated program schedule, accessed 2026-10-06. Historical program terms; page has inconsistent open/closed wording. |
Searches for newer Outlier Ventures fund amounts and Fund II commitments did not establish a trustworthy closed amount or target. Do not import generic Web3 market fundraising figures from the firm's research reports as its own fund size. Do not confuse Outlier Grove, Breed VC or unrelated entities using “Outlier Ventures” in a legal series name with this firm.
Funds recorded in Adex after this review:
| Fund | Disclosed amount | Announcement / filing date |
| --- | --- | --- |
| Fund I | Undisclosed / unverified | Unknown |
| Fund II | Undisclosed / unverified | Unknown | SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 8 hours ago
Match research 2026-10-06 / OutlierVentures / sha256:1ec6aa8f42bef5992c3449daf5c428ed6990831d546e5983b075cf1ae776c009 / part 2 of 2
Imported completed research. Baseline Adex/Signal statements describe prior state, not independent verification. Retain cited attribution, date, currency and classification caveats.
| **Fetch.ai / Fetch** | Historical firm thesis explicitly names an investment in an emergent-intelligence protocol combining distributed ledgers and machine learning. This provides a technical decentralized AI infrastructure rationale. | [Convergence Ecosystem](https://outlierventures.io/research/introducing-the-convergence-ecosystem/ ), **2018-03-29**, describes investments over the preceding year. Amount and precise original round absent. [Current $FET directory entry](https://portfolio.outlierventures.io/fet ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06, lists legacy investment year **2018** and stage Series B. The year conflicts with the historical preceding-year description; retain both rather than inventing a precise investment date. Token exposure is not proven equity participation. |
| **IOTA** | Firm historical thesis explicitly names investment in distributed ledger/IoT infrastructure using a nontraditional decentralized data structure. Technical protocol investment; not neurotech. | [Convergence Ecosystem](https://outlierventures.io/research/introducing-the-convergence-ecosystem/ ), **2018-03-29**, verifies firm attribution. [Blockchain News report by Richard Kastelein](https://medium.com/@BlockchainNews/outlier-ventures-europes-leading-blockchain-investment-group-focused-on-distributed-ledger-3e90104775b3 ), **2017-06-14**, reports a seven-figure stake via token offering. Exact amount and currency unspecified; report appears based on announcement text, not independent transaction documentation. Do not convert “seven figure” into a numeric firm check. |
| **Weaver Labs** | Open telecommunications protocols joining virtualized 5G, blockchain and open radio hardware: a stronger telecommunications engineering rationale than generic DeFi. Official first Base Camp announcement includes Weaver; official directory assigns it to Outlier's portfolio. | [First Base Camp cohort](https://outlierventures.io/article/announcing-our-first-base-camp-accelerator-cohort/ ), **2019-09-18**. [Weaver directory](https://portfolio.outlierventures.io/weaver ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06, lists investment year **2019**, Seed, BaseCamp 1. Exact round and Outlier contribution undisclosed. This combines investment-directory and cohort evidence rather than claiming a separately documented priced round. |
| **DataHop** | Edge networking, direct device-to-device connectivity, privacy-preserving propagation and useful-work incentive protocol. Official first-cohort announcement describes it; snapshot lists firm portfolio participation. | Same [2019-09-18 first-cohort announcement](https://outlierventures.io/article/announcing-our-first-base-camp-accelerator-cohort/ ). Direct financial transaction amount/terms not independently confirmed; treat as accelerator/portfolio exposure pending transaction-level confirmation. |
Additional historical named investments **Botanic/SEED** (software-bot platform) and **Evernym/Sovrin** (self-sovereign identity infrastructure) appear in the [2018-03-29 official thesis](https://outlierventures.io/research/introducing-the-convergence-ecosystem/ ). These have explicit firm investment attribution, but company versus associated foundation/network, investment instrument, exact round/date and scientific novelty require further review. They are supporting computational-infrastructure examples, not neural technologies.
**Swash** is a verified additional investment but is not automatically classified as deep tech: [CoinDesk](https://www.coindesk.com/business/2021/09/27/blockchain-startup-swash-raises-4m-to-make-data-monetization-click ), **2021-09-27**, updated 2023-05-11, reports a **$4M total round co-led by KuCoin, Outlier Ventures and Streamr**, financing consumer data monetization and a data-union marketplace. This verifies the snapshot's lead role and round total, not a $4M Outlier contribution.
## Neurotechnology evidence and exclusions
**No verified neurotech investment found in the sources checked.** Checked the saved investments, Signal, official investment/portfolio material and searches combining Outlier Ventures with neurotech, neuroscience, brain and investment. No named investee with documented brain recording/stimulation, BCI, neural implants or other direct neural technology and attributable Outlier financing was established. This is a search outcome, not a claim that such investments do not exist.
Two apparent leads should not be misclassified:
- [AI, Whole Brain Emulation & The Future We Can't Ignore](https://outlierventures.io/article/ai-whole-brain-emulation-the-future-we-cant-ignore/ ), **2023-11-09**, is a podcast with Lawrence Lundy of Lunar Ventures. Neuroscience and brain-emulation discussion does not prove an Outlier investment, and Lunar's investments cannot be attributed to Outlier.
- [Why we invested in Altered State Machine](https://outlierventures.io/article/why-we-invested-in-asm/ ), **2022-04-12**, explicitly confirms Outlier investment in trainable AI agents/NFTs. Its “brain” terminology describes software ML models and game agents, not human neural interfaces. Round and amount are not disclosed here. This is general AI/Web3 exposure, excluded from neurotech.
The current biological/cognitive sovereignty thesis may be relevant to future prospecting but provides no named verified neurotech investment on its own.
## Conflicts, gaps and notes for later Adex review
1. **Fund size remains undisclosed.** Review Fund II subscription/legal materials or a public close announcement before filling a numeric amount. Fund I closed/deployed status and Fund II active label can be recorded with source/date, but do not treat portfolio fundraising as commitments.
2. **Founding date conflict:** Adex/Signal say 2014; current Fund I history starts 2013. These may reflect initial activity versus formation. Preserve 2014 until legally or explicitly reconciled rather than overwriting from a retrospective header.
3. **Current strategy changed:** update description only after reviewing the June 2026 thesis scope against actual deployment. Old early-stage Web3 focus is well supported; current Fund II stages remain unknown. The View Thesis link returned the homepage during access, limiting detailed deck inspection.
4. **Weaver descriptions conflict within official materials:** dated first-cohort announcement describes 5G/telecommunications, current legacy portfolio page describes DeFi, and directory calls it generic software/AI. Use the dated specific engineering account; verify directly with Weaver before adopting newer generic text. Sources: [legacy page](https://outlierventures.io/portfolio/weaver-labs/ ) and [directory](https://portfolio.outlierventures.io/weaver ), both undated, accessed 2026-10-06.
5. **Fetch original year conflict and token evolution:** 2018 directory year versus 2018 article's preceding-year statement; associated ASI token description may change. Do not infer investments in every member of a token alliance from exposure to Fetch or Ocean.
6. **Import hygiene:** deduplicate Swash portfolio/round evidence; preserve null dates for unsupported sitemap imports; separate token holdings, foundations, advisor/accelerator relationships and company equity. Check all historical Signal roles before treating them as current staff.
7. **Classification:** retain computational infrastructure examples with stated rationale; do not relabel the entire portfolio DeepTech or infer neurotech from cognitive-sovereignty language, AI “brains,” partner biographies or podcast topics.
All source URLs are attached to the findings they support. Publication dates are provided where available; all undated pages and all cited material were accessed 2026-10-06. The review is complete within publicly accessible evidence, with disclosure and attribution limitations retained for later Adex review. SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 8 hours ago
Match research 2026-10-06 / OutlierVentures / sha256:1ec6aa8f42bef5992c3449daf5c428ed6990831d546e5983b075cf1ae776c009 / part 1 of 2
Imported completed research. Baseline Adex/Signal statements describe prior state, not independent verification. Retain cited attribution, date, currency and classification caveats.
# Outlier Ventures
- Exact Adex ID: `OutlierVentures`
- Canonical Adex webpage: https://adex.page/firms/OutlierVentures
- Official website: https://outlierventures.io/
- Research date and source access date: **2026-10-06**
- Status: **Complete research review; material disclosure gaps identified.** Research only; no Adex/database updates.
## Summary and identity
Outlier Ventures is the UK venture platform and accelerator associated with Jamie Burke and Web3 infrastructure. The current website identifies its operator as **Outlier Capital LLP**, England and Wales company OC404177. The June 2026 site presents an active Fund II and a broader AI, Atoms & Association thesis spanning several forms of technological sovereignty. This is a material development beyond the historical blockchain accelerator strategy. It does not establish a disclosed fund size or a verified neurotech portfolio. [Official current site, thesis dated June 2026](https://outlierventures.io/ ), [legal notice, June 2026](https://outlierventures.io/legal-disclaimer ).
Named historical investments with credible technical-infrastructure rationales include Ocean Protocol, Fetch.ai, IOTA and Weaver Labs. Their technologies concern decentralized AI/data networks, distributed ledger protocols and telecommunications; the deep-tech classification is an analytical judgment, not a claim that every Web3 company is deep tech. No verified neurotech investment found in the sources checked.
## Adex and NFX Signal starting evidence
The exact-ID snapshot `_sources/OutlierVentures.adex.json`, retrieved 2026-10-06 at 19:29:41 UTC, has a blank description, founded year 2014, null investment check ranges and sweet spot, and the Signal profile below. It says the organization was discovered through the NFX DeepTech pre-seed list on 2026-09-09 and correctly cautions that list inclusion may reflect historical investor affiliations.
The snapshot contains 36 investment participation records: a dated Swash round plus 35 undated official portfolio-sitemap imports, including Ocean, Fetch.ai, IOTA, Weaver Labs, DataHop, Enigma, Fission Codes, CUDOS, Agoric, Brave, Ethereum and Bitcoin. Those imports are discovery evidence, not transaction-level verification. Swash appears both as a dated transaction and as an undated portfolio record. Token/network holdings must be distinguished from company equity; Bitcoin and Ethereum are particularly unsuitable for automatic conversion into ordinary company financing rounds. Snapshot roles include Stephan Apel, Elliot Leimer and many Signal-imported historical/unknown affiliations; current roles were not reverified.
[Signal firm profile](https://signal.nfx.com/firms/outlier-ventures ) was directly read on 2026-10-06. It describes an English firm founded in 2014 based in London, with early-stage technology, crypto and blockchain activity, two investment funds, 49 investments and no exits. Its top-level location says United States while its text says England and its aggregated locations span multiple countries. These are unverified directory claims, and counts lag the much larger official portfolio. The accessible rendering displayed a team heading without usable member details. No reliable fund amounts or firmwide check sizes were obtained from Signal. The original discovery list remains [NFX DeepTech pre-seed investor list](https://signal.nfx.com/investor-lists/top-deeptech-pre-seed-investors ); inclusion alone does not establish scientific-sector coverage.
## Fund size, vintage and financing model
| Vehicle or metric | Finding and date | Interpretation / source |
|---|---|---|
| Fund II | Official site labels Fund II active in 2026; June 2026 thesis. Amount, currency, target and final-close date not disclosed in accessible pages. | [Fund II](https://outlierventures.io/fund-ii ), accessed 2026-10-06. Latest-known named vehicle in the checked sources. An active label is not a verified final close. |
| Fund I | Current site labels 2013–2026, deployment complete and closed. States $400M raised into over 400 startups/protocols. | [Fund I](https://outlierventures.io/fund-i ), undated page with 2013–2026 labeling, accessed 2026-10-06. The wording concerns money raised into portfolio businesses, not a demonstrated $400M LP fund commitment. Currency shown as dollars without an explicit currency code. |
| Historical structure | Firm stated it invested its own partners' money and had not created a conventional third-party LP fund, management fees or carry. | [We are an accelerator](https://outlierventures.io/article/we-are-an-accelerator/ ), 2020-01-27. Historical description; cannot assume it still describes Fund II. |
| Portfolio fundraising / network values | Partner directory shows $1bn raised across portfolio and $11bn network value. | [Official directory](https://portfolio.outlierventures.io/ ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06. Neither number is fund size, AUM or capital available for new investments. Different denominators/timeframes may explain discrepancy with Fund I's $400M. |
| Current accelerator admission funding | Outlier-branded accelerator landing page advertises $200k on admission and preregistration for 2026. | [Outliers accelerator](https://www.outliers.io/ ), undated, accessed 2026-10-06. Program offer, not verified universal check size or fund amount; terms not fully available. |
| Historical AI x Crypto Base Camp | Up to $100,000 stipend, 12-week program beginning 2024-05-20; agreed equity stake and future token supply. | [AI Base Camp](https://outlierventures.io/base-camp/ai-base-camp/ ), dated program schedule, accessed 2026-10-06. Historical program terms; page has inconsistent open/closed wording. |
Searches for newer Outlier Ventures fund amounts and Fund II commitments did not establish a trustworthy closed amount or target. Do not import generic Web3 market fundraising figures from the firm's research reports as its own fund size. Do not confuse Outlier Grove, Breed VC or unrelated entities using “Outlier Ventures” in a legal series name with this firm.
## Investment stages and current mandate
Historical primary material explicitly states **early-stage, seed and pre-seed** focus and investing through both equity and crypto tokens: [Token Ecosystem Creation paper](https://outlierventures.io/wp-content/uploads/2021/06/Token-Ecosystem-Creation-Outlier-Ventures-PDF.pdf ), historical paper at a June 2021 upload URL, accessed 2026-10-06. The upload date does not establish the original publication date. Accelerator cohort participation and admission capital corroborate early-company support. Current Fund II pages explain the expanded technological thesis without an explicit stage range or check-size schedule. Keep historical early-stage strategy separate from unconfirmed Fund II stage policy.
The 2026 thesis encompasses cognitive, biological, energy, manufacturing and orbital sovereignty alongside financial and associative sovereignty. This supports broader areas of interest, not evidence of completed investments in all those sectors. Current portfolio stage labels such as Fetch/ASI “Series B” describe listed project maturity and should not be treated as the stage at which Outlier first invested.
## Named previous deep-tech investments
| Company / network | Technology rationale and attribution | Round / date / amount and caveat |
|---|---|---|
| **Ocean Protocol** | Decentralized data exchange and privacy-conscious data access for AI; explicit strategic investor/partner statement by Outlier Ventures. This is AI/data protocol infrastructure, rather than ordinary enterprise SaaS. | [Official investment announcement](https://outlierventures.io/article/strategic-investor-ocean-protocol/ ), **2017-12-20**. Investment described as significant, amount and round undisclosed. [Official investment rationale](https://outlierventures.io/article/why-we-are-investing-in-ocean-protocol/ ), historical early-2018 material, accessed 2026-10-06, explains confidential-data processing and decentralized marketplaces; later ambitions are not proof of deployed capabilities. | SHOW MORE
team@apexlogos.ai · 27 days ago
MATCH